James Naigus

Beale Suite

Beale Suite

Beale Suite was commissioned and written for Heidi Vogel and the Otter Valley Horn Quartet (Hilary Gunn, Trevor Ives, Jonathan Stoneman, Jo White) with additional support by William Paulick for the 2013 International Horn Society Symposium in Memphis, Tennessee. It is comprised of five contrasting movements influenced by the styles and artists of the Memphis blues. The odd numbered movements are in a more traditional blues idiom (also slightly reminiscent of the three-part blues structure), whereas the even numbered movements are harmonically and stylistically on the opposite spectrum.

Premiered at the 2013 IHS Symposium in Memphis, TN.

Available through Veritas Musica Publishing